How to rebuild a better Burundi?

27/01/2022
Local: 5:00 pm
Paris: 4:00 pm
French Institute of Burundi, Bujumbura, BI
Burundi
French

In partnership with the bloggers' collective YAGA, the IFB is organising a panel on Thursday 27 January 2022 on the theme of "(Re)building together". Six personalities have been identified to take part in this panel. Each of the speakers will speak in his or her preferred field: education, ecology and sustainable development, human rights, human resources, rurality, and communication. These six personalities, from different social backgrounds, working in various fields, of different ages and genders, will each bring their points of view on the theme, through their respective disciplines. They will propose several axes and highlight the many challenges to be met, by answering this question:

How to rebuild a better Burundi through [discipline]?

Micheline BARANDEREKA, will answer this question through education. She is the founder of Shekinah Center, a school located in Rusaka, in the province of Mwaro. Based on the observation that in her home town, there are problems related to education that go beyond literacy, she decided to create a school, fully integrated into the community. In addition to the school programme, Shekinah School teaches children and their parents the basics of nutrition, hygiene, etc. Shekinah School aims to be a school of excellence, based on UNESCO standards, emphasising child-centred education, based on individual teaching and strengthening the relationship between teacher and student.

Delphin KAZE, will answer this question through sustainable development. He is the founder and managing director of KAGE (Kaze Green Economy): a social enterprise working in the promotion of green energy, contributing to the protection of the environment, the fight against deforestation but also to the creation of employment opportunities. By recycling biodegradable household waste (such as rice husks, maize cobs, or for example coffee stalks), KAGE creates briquettes that can replace firewood.

Dacia MUNEZERO will answer this question through her media and activist vision. She is a Burundian journalist and blogger, co-founder of YAGA. YAGA is a media, a local news website created in 2015, when the country was mired in a political and social crisis. Dacia is in charge of communication and monitoring and evaluation of YAGA's activities. In parallel, she is a digital activist, being very engaged on social networks. She produces videos to raise awareness of women's rights, advocating for the respect, emancipation and empowerment of Burundian women.

Louis-Marie NINDORERA will answer this question through his expertise on citizen participation. Using the simple example of road safety, he will address the issue of individual responsibility, through different aspects: psychological, legal, security or economic governance, for example.

Aurélie GAHIMBARE will answer this question through her expertise in human resources. She is the director of Intercontact Services, a company created in 1982, offering various services: real estate, human resources, recruitment. She will discuss how human capital is exploited, the opportunities for young graduates entering the labour market, the role of the education system in the labour market, etc.

Daly NGARAMNE will answer this question through his expertise in supporting young businesses in rural areas. He is the founder of the Ukoondi incubator, and will share his experiences to present a picture of the skills that populate our countryside and the keys to unlocking their potential.

In addition to the testimonies of these personalities, the public will also have a large place to exchange with the panellists.

The discussion will be moderated by Yves IRAKOZE, a young civil society activist and journalist for YAGA.

Course of events:

  • 17.00 - 17.15 Public welcome
  • 17.15 - 17.20 IFB speeches
  • 17.20 - 17.25 YAGA speech
  • 17.25 - 17.35 Introduction of the moderator
  • 17:35 - 18:05 Testimonies of the first three panellists
  • 18:05 - 19:00 Panel 1: exchanges between the first three panellists, the audience and the moderator
  • 19:00 - 19:30 Testimonies from the other three panellists
  • 19:30 - 20:30 Panel 2: exchanges between the three other panellists, the audience and the moderator
  • 8.30 - 8.35 pm Closing

Partners

Comment reconstruire un Burundi meilleur ?

27/01/2022
Locale : 17h00
Paris : 16h00
Institut français du Burundi, Bujumbura, BI
Burundi
Français

En partenariat avec le collectif de blogueurs YAGA, l’IFB organise le jeudi 27 janvier 2022 un panel autour de la thématique « (Re)construire ensemble ». Six personnalités ont été identifiées pour prendra part à ce panel. Chacun des intervenants prendra la parole dans son domaine de prédilection : éducation, écologie et développement durable, droits de l’homme, ressources humaines, ruralité, et communication. Ces six personnalités, issues de milieux sociaux différents, œuvrant dans des domaines divers, d’âges et de sexes différents, apporteront chacun leurs points de vue sur la thématique, à travers leurs disciplines respectives. Ils proposeront plusieurs axes et mettront en lumière les nombreux défis à relever, en répondant à cette question :

Comment reconstruire un Burundi meilleur à travers [discipline] ?

Micheline BARANDEREKA, répondra à cette question à travers l’éducation. Elle est la fondatrice de Shekinah Center, une école située à Rusaka, dans la province de Mwaro. Partant du constat que dans sa commune natale, il y a des problèmes liés à l’éducation allant au-delà de l’alphabétisation, elle décide de créer une école, intégrée entièrement dans la communauté. Au-delà du programme scolaire, Shekinah School apprends aux enfants et à leurs parents, les rudiments de la nutrition, de l’hygiène, etc. Shekinah School se veut comme une école d’excellence, basée sur les normes de l’UNESCO, mettant en avant une éducation centrée sur l’enfant, basée sur l’enseignement individuel et renforçant les relations entre l’enseignant et l’élève.

Delphin KAZE, répondra à cette question à travers le développement durable. Il est le fondateur et directeur général de KAGE (Kaze Green Economy) : une entreprise sociale travaillant dans la promotion de l’énergie verte, contribuant à la protection de l’environnement, à la lutte contre la déforestation mais aussi à la création des opportunités d’emploi. En recyclant les déchets ménagers biodégradables (tels que les balles de riz, les rafles de maïs, ou par exemple les parches de café), KAGE créé des briquettes pouvant substituer le bois de chauffage.

Dacia MUNEZERO répondra à cette question à travers sa vision médiatique et activiste. Elle est une journaliste et blogueuse burundaise, co-fondatrice de YAGA. YAGA est un média, un site d’information local créé en 2015, alors que le pays s’enlise dans une crise politique et sociale. Dacia est chargée de la communication et du suivi-évaluation des activités de YAGA. En parallèle, elle est activiste digitale, en étant très engagée sur les réseaux sociaux. Elle réalise des vidéos de sensibilisation aux droits des femmes en prônant le respect, l’émancipation et l’autonomisation de la femme burundaise.

Louis-Marie NINDORERA répondra à cette question à travers son expertise autour de la participation citoyenne. En partant de l’exemple simple de la sécurité routière, il abordera la question de la responsabilité individuelle, à travers différents aspects : psychologique, juridique, sécuritaire ou de gouvernance économique, par exemple.

Aurélie GAHIMBARE répondra à cette question à travers son expertise autour des ressources humaines. Elle est la directrice de Intercontact Services une entreprise créée en 1982, proposant différents services : immobilier, ressources humaines, recrutement. Elle s’interroge sur la manière dont on exploite le capital humain, sur les opportunités pour les jeunes diplômés arrivant sur le marché du travail, sur le rôle du système éducatif dans le marché du travail, etc.

Daly NGARAMNE répondra à cette question à travers son expertise autour de l’accompagnement de jeunes entreprises en milieu rural. Il est le fondateur de l’incubateur Ukoondi, et partagera ses expériences pour présenter un tableau des compétences qui peuplent nos campagnes et les clés pour en fructifier le potentiel.

En parallèle des témoignages de ces personnalités, le public aura également une large place pour pouvoir échanger avec les panélistes.

Les échanges seront modérés par Yves IRAKOZE, jeune activiste de la société civile et journaliste pour YAGA.

Déroulé :

  • 17h00 – 17h15 Accueil du public
  • 17h15 – 17h20 Discours IFB
  • 17h20 – 17h25 Discours YAGA
  • 17h25 – 17h35 Introduction du modérateur
  • 17h35 – 18h05 Témoignages des trois premiers panélistes
  • 18h05 – 19h00 Panel 1 : échanges entre les trois premiers panélistes, le public et le modérateur
  • 19h00 – 19h30 Témoignages des trois autres panélistes
  • 19h30 – 20h30 Panel 2 : échanges entre les trois autres panélistes, le public et le modérateur
  • 20h30 – 20h35 Clôture

Partenaires